Do lens affect camera metering ?

anupmathur

Super Moderator
Staff member
I would consider it logical that since an SLR views things 'through the lens' its metering and any other function would depend on the lens entirely.

Ankur003

UltraWideLife.com
I would consider it logical that since an SLR views things 'through the lens' its metering and any other function would depend on the lens entirely.
Anup Sir, you mean to say , some lens will underexpose or over expose a picture, yet showing correctly exposed in camera meter?

anupmathur

Super Moderator
Staff member
Anup Sir, you mean to say , some lens will underexpose or over expose a picture, yet showing correctly exposed in camera meter?
No, the frame should not turn out under or over exposed. If it does then the metering is not quite doing its job! The camera meter should show correct exposure of what is viewed through the lens that is in use.
This is just my (educated) guess; as you know I am not an expert on Photography.
Maybe we should shout out to some major experts. @pushpinder, for starters! And we have @hensil , @kdacharya and @Yogesh Sarkar , and so many more!

Yogesh Sarkar

Administrator
Each lens is different, some under expose, some over. Aperture mentioned on lens isn’t consistent across the board either; it varies from lens to lens. That is why you have to learn your gear and work accordingly.

Ankur003

UltraWideLife.com
Each lens is different, some under expose, some over. Aperture mentioned on lens isn’t consistent across the board either; it varies from lens to lens. That is why you have to learn your gear and work accordingly.
Yes YS I agree. each lens is different. even aperture ratings are not consistent.