Ladakh: God's Masterpiece

Rohit Malik

Born to Ride
THE LEH STORY : ONE THAT I WON’T FORGET EVER

Prologue :

Leh, Mecca for bikers and a dream for every traveler, tourist or wanderer whatever you are. I started riding to Himalayas in 2013 and since then covered almost whole of Uttarakhand (chopta tungnath five times ☺), Spiti Valley circuit (most adventurous), Jalori pass in knee deep snow, Kinnaur (Sangla and chitkul twice), and many more places. But Leh was always my dream as it is everyone’s and it fascinated me with the unbelievable beauty it beholds in its lap. And not to forget, my companion, my beloved and ever trusted, my Classic 350 (I call her BEAST) took me to all those places.

I was planning the Leh trip for almost 4 years and it was not happening for one or the other reason. But June 2017 was marked for this epic journey. My friend and colleague, Vaishali Dharmshaktu, was also planning the same with her friends, so we decided to do it together and hence the plan.

THE PLAN :

The itinerary we made was quite fast and tedious but we hoped to make it work but as u all know, It’s the LEH roads and weather that decides at the end what itinerary one’s going to follow. Manali was our rendezvous point as we were travelling from different places. Three of our friends have already reached Manali on 9th June on their bikes. I reached Manali on 11th June at 1am on my Beast and rest 4 at 4am by HRTC bus from ISBT Delhi.

June 11: Manali to Darcha (147km)

June 12: Darcha to Leh (335km)

June 13: Leh to Nubra Valley (120km)

June 14: Nubra to Pangong (170km) via agham shyok route

June 15: Pangong to Leh (140km)

June 16: Leh local

June 17: Karu toTso Moriri (170km)

June 18: Tso Moriri to Sarchu (almost 225km) via Tso Kar

June 19: Sarchu to Batal, Chandrataal (250Km)

June 20: Batal to Manali (130km)

June 21: Manali to Delhi (550km)

What we actually did:

June 11: Manali to Darcha (147km)

June 12: Darcha to Pang (165km)

June 13: Pang to Leh (170km)