Mumbai-Delhi-Mumbai by Road

Roops

Half century of life but still exploring...
Hi Friends! I intend to explore Mumbai-Delhi-Mumbai by road with my wife & son and make it a lifetime memory of our family bonding. Days available for Travel 3+3 (3 days one way) and one week break in between in Delhi during the last week of June and First week of July'19. The tentative route plan as on now is Thane-Ahmedabad-Udaipur- Jaipur-Faridabad and Return Faridabad-Gwalior-Indore-Nashik-Thane. Mode of travel is self-driven Toyota Innova with me being the primary driver and my son acting as a backup. I have been driving for more than 30 years but have been using a driver for the past 15 years. I drive really good but have not driven long distances off-late. So am actually unaware of the fatigue and other related side-effects of long distance driving. My son is a comparatively new driver with no highway driving experience and has been limited to city driving only. A review of the route planned with some stay accommodations is strongly requested and Just in case, you can help- Good eating joints on the way ( Dhaba Types) Both Veg & Non-Veg. It helps out immensely and makes the journey worthwhile. Budget is moderate with emphasis on exploring roadside life since my son has relocated to Canada for studies and he misses Indian Roads and roadside life a lot! Thanks a lot in anticipation of all your support and guidance........

deepam

Super User
Roops,
My opinion is you can avoid returning via Gwalior - Indore. Instead come back via RJ-GJ you can skip Ahmedabad.
I agree to your point that city and highway driving is totally different. Not many understand this.

My opinion is you can do this trip, but first explaining to your son that the morons can come on wrong side with full speed or cross the road anytime at their will.