My new Royal Enfield Classic 500 EFi !!

Discussion in 'Motorcycles' started by deepaksaligram, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. Mandar_C500

    Mandar_C500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Pune
    oops, my bad. its 180.

    Regards
    Mandar
     
    shamzir likes this.
  2. shamzir

    shamzir Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    calicut, Chennai
    finally got the jet. Today from bajaj website, i tooks all the distributors numbers in chennai and called up one by one. Most of the dealers said they dont have it in stock or i have to buy entire carb assembly . Finally i called jay auto in adyar. I called up during the lunch time. the lady on the desk told me shell will get back to me after luch time. without fail she called me back and said the part is available. Even they were kind enough to open the cover and check the size before i buy it. 5 star to jay auto adyar. Now my bull is running on 17.5 pilot and i set the turn to 2.5. later on i will fine tune depending up on plug colour. Thanks a lot @Mandar_C500 @IJS @sanchit350 for helping me out to resolve this issue.

    20180313_172019.jpg

    20180313_162350.jpg
     
    adsatinder, Mandar_C500 and IJS like this.
  3. shamzir

    shamzir Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    calicut, Chennai
    I use to return from work late and found the sound of exhaust too loud and seems like disturbing my nighbours. Since my oem exhaust is at my home town, thought i should find some juggads. Hence bought the wood cutter bit for drill from a hardware shop, drilled some additional holes using my hand drill and installed as a cap on the existing exhaust. The bits comes as a set of four. 21/8 inch perfectly fits on my current exhuast. Now the sound is little bit higher than o.e m exhuast. I can remove it when ever i want just by unbolting one bolt.

    20180314_095853.jpg

    20180314_100017.jpg
     
  4. anuglx

    anuglx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I think you are on Indimotards carb kit. You are only chaining the main jet or anything else. ? Me too running on the same i mentioned above. Its been around 15000km so far running fine. Getting aroumd 37 to 42kmpl . Only con i felt was the top end limited to 125kmph on speedo max. I can live with that.

    Sent from my SM-P585 using Tapatalk
     
    shamzir likes this.
  5. shamzir

    shamzir Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    calicut, Chennai
    I am not running on indimotard kit. Its just like indimotard kit, but i purchased the carb and other required items direclty from r.e . I did not change main jet since it is already 130 and its fine. Did changed only pilot jet from 15 to 17.5. I think even if you are running on e.f.i, it wont go past 125. I havent tried, but i feels unsafe even after crossing 100-110 kph. BTW, what did you do with the MAP sensor connector? did you just left it free or is it connected to the sensor?
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
  6. anuglx

    anuglx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I did it from Indimotards. What they connected is just TPS. that too they inverted the connections it seems. And fuel pump and MAP i think they sealed with insulation tape.

    I hope the pic is legible
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
    shamzir likes this.
  7. shamzir

    shamzir Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    calicut, Chennai
    Its clear bro. Whai did is in a diffrent way. I removed the MAP sensor from throttle body. I made a hole inside a bislery cap and inserted a main jet of carb through the hole. Then bolted the other end of the main jet. Then placed the MAP sensor inside the cap facing the sensor hole downwards and sealed it using silicone RTV. Then i connected one end of the jet to a hose and the hose is attached to the connector to the inlet manifold which is used to connect pcv. Now the ecu can sense vaccum pressure in the inlet manifold and can adjust the timing accordingly. My C.E.L dont stays on. It just goes off after crank. It is a bit confusing. Please see the pic how the connection is made.

    20180316_165649.jpg
     
    anuglx likes this.
  8. supriyfale

    supriyfale RiderByChance

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Thane
    I have a question for Classic 500 owners. Recently I got a 2016 DS 500. The bike is running fine.

    During a recent general service, my mechanic removed the pipe (a long and thin rubber pipe) which is connected to the tank (on the left hand side) saying that it collects the water (?) that is collected on tank and it is not necessary.

    My question is :

    1. Does the pipe really collect water or it is for some other purpose?
    2. Can it just be removed?

    I would wait for expert comment from you guys as I have kept that pipe with me.

    Regards,
    Supriy Fale
     
  9. IJS

    IJS The Ghost Who Walks

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3,412
    Likes Received:
    3,647
    Location:
    delhi
    Almost every bike has drain pipe for water collected around the collar of the tank cap so it is best to leave that pipe there otherwise water won't drop directly to the ground. So get that pipe re fixed properly to avoid rust etc.

    Sent from my Lenovo K8 Note using Tapatalk
     
  10. supriyfale

    supriyfale RiderByChance

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Thane
    Thank you IJS. Will reconnect the pipe :)
     
    IJS likes this.

Share This Page