Sach Pass and Ladakh Trip - Solo Trip - Sep 2019

adhip.varma

Motorcycle Tourer
Dear All,

I had to wait for almost 12 years since I started riding a motorcycle to do this trip and before this trip, I had traveled extensively in South and North India on two wheels. After leaving my corporate job this year in April, I put my foot down and decided to do this trip in the month of September because this is the best month to travel in the mountains with the monsoons receding and the winters setting in. I did a small warm up ride to Jalori Pass to prepare myself for this Himalayan expedition on my motorbike.

To be honest with you, I already have penned down my experience on my personal blog before joining this forum (Trans Himalayan Ride Sep 2019) but I still will share my experience here as well.

IMG_20190908_125945.jpg

Motorcyclists in India are very well versed with these terms but very few have experienced it in groups and even fewer have ridden on them alone! I am of one them to do it alone. The amount of preparation your motorcycle takes, the mental preparation of doing this ride is double of that.
So the plan was not that simple to do this ride. I had planned to do Ladakh via Kashmir and then come back from Manali but due to the scrapping of Section 370 in Kashmir, I cancelled my plan and started looking for alternatives. Below were the alternatives:
  1. Go via Manali by taking permit for Rohtang
  2. Go via Spiti Valley
  3. Go via Sach Pass – Killar Kishtwar Road – Pangi Valley
I eliminated Option 1 because I planned to come back from Rohtang. I even eliminated Option 2 because I had done Spiti Valley in September 2016. So the only option left was to go via Sach Pass. This was new and exciting for me. Adventure is what we bikers want and of course there is always a calculated risk but I never knew what I was getting into because I had never experienced it.

THE JOURNEY

Day 1 – Delhi to Banikhet (588 kms) – 6 Sep 2019