Solo ride in September Delhi-Ladakh

Hasaniqbal

Greetings to the BCM team and fellow members,

Hi Yogesh & team,

I am 42 years of age, a cop by profession and own a two year old Electra with 14000 kms on the odometer. I have been planning to ride to Leh ever since I bought the bike in 2014, unfortunately haven't been able to do it till now.

I have a lot of queries for you guys and would appreciate all the guidance and help. Here it goes:

1. I have no idea about the itinerary for the route. Can you guys suggest when to leave and help plan an itinerary? I can to start in or after first week of September, 2016. How many kilometers should I travel in a day ( I am ok physically) and where to break journeys? (I had driven to Manali last year by car).
  2. I believe Delhi-Srinagr-Leh route is inadvisable currently?
  3. How cold it will be in Ladakh during this period and also the road conditions; meaning will the monsoons be over by then?
  4. My Electra has the standard 3.25x 19" rear tyres, i was thinking of upgrading to 3.5 x 19" for the ride, what Tyre to choose?
  5. Where to buy equipment for the ride in Delhi/NCR? particularly which saddle bags, riding and protective gear, etc . I am on a budget here. Also what approximately would be the total financial outlay for the ride? I have a couple of good jackets, including a leather one. Do I need a riding jacket?
  6. I will tune up my bike and carry the spares needed, my mechanic was advising me to remove the air filter, once i reached Leh- any logic behind that? Any other mechanical advise ?
  7. Will travelling solo be a problem, in terms of physical endurance and loneliness? Also wouldn't mind pairing up with other riders en route, if there are similar riders please help me connect
If i have missed out on any other worthwhile issues, please do enlighten me like a kid :)

A big thank you in advance,
Hasan

narender

DRIFTER
Sep is best time for Ladakh..roads are dry and monsoon over.