Sony DSC H2/H% Against the Canon S2/S3

I know the specs, but there's so much more than meets the eye!

I have no experience with the sony cams, but I generally hold them in good regard.

But the kinda photos I've been getting from my friends POwershot A510 has made me believe that there is a lot beyond just MP that determine the quality fo a picture. In short, two cams having smae MPs have very different image qualitis...and canon rocks in this dept.,

Can somenoe please tell me the pros and cons of each cam...the finer details.

SachinOnTop

Full Use Else Lose
Canon S3 IS uses 4xAA batteries, the Sony DSC-H5 uses 2xAA. So all other things being equal, the batteries on the Canon are likely to last twice as long.

The S3 use SD memory cards, which are very widely used in everything from the smallest ultra compacts to DSLRs. The H5 uses Sony's proprietary Memory Stick cards, which tend to be a bit more expensive. but i guess H5 also suppports SD cards too. check it yourself!

The H5 has 7 megapixel resolution, the S3 has 6MP. This probably isn't going to make that much difference. Both of them have 12x zoom lenses and image stabilisation.

Canon S3 has stereo sound for movie mode and a fully tiltable & swivelling LCD.

H5 has better LCD screen than S3. BUt being quite large it might eat up batteries a bit quickly! BUt Sony's screen is much more crisp and clear than S3's.

SonyH5 will give MUCH longer video time.
I guess 1GB of video on the Canon S3 lasts 9mins only, whereas it's much much longer for H5.

H5 can zoom in/out optically WHILE you are recording, no idea abt s3. Be double sure abt it so check it yourself!!

Canon's colors appears to be richer in almost every sample pic available on net, in comparison to Sony.

one more thing for you to check out :lol:
Can S3 or H5 act like web cam? i guess not!!! so check that!!!

i guess the optical zoom of the Sony H5 can be boosted higher by lowering the Megapixels...can the S3 IS do that?