Trip to Kerala during the floods- 14-8-2018 to 20-08-2018

drk

The Neelkurinji flower blooms once in twelve years, and the Nilgiris derive their name from these blooms, during which the Nilgiris turn into the Blue Mountains. This phenomenon is eagerly awaited and to witness it, we had planned the Kerala trip from 14th August to 20th August 2018. The participants in the initial plan backed out because of the reports of heavy rains, and new entrants joined in, and finally it was four of us- two couples, all of us doctors by education but not by profession, embarked on this trip to Kerala and called it the Neelkurinji Quest. The journey was to unfold in a completely different manner than what was earlier planned, because exactly at the time of our trip, the state of Kerala was about to witness the worst tragedy in a century, and we were going to get there exactly when things were about to turn bad. Yet, by God’s grace, this trip went on without any inconvenience or difficulty, but the quest for Neelkurinji remained unfinished. This story is about how we moved around Kerala during the natural disaster, from one island of safety to another, all by the grace of God, and were able to witness what this beautiful state had to offer, amidst its worst natural disaster in this century. This is a journey of coincidences, chance encounters, providence and luck, this is a travelogue to Kerala, but at the time of its worst natural disaster in recent times.